Business and Law

Plastic tax

After many different reports on the subject of plastics tax, there exists now an official statement from the Austrian Finance Ministry. Below is an excerpt:

 

The so-called “EU plastic levy or plastic tax is not a levy or tax in the conventional sense. It is a new category of own resources based on the amount of non-recycled plastic packaging waste generated to finance the EU budget (“plastic own resources”).

 

The introduction of the new own resources category even reduces the EU contribution for Austria because Austria’s share of plastic own resources (2.4%) is lower than Austria’s share of the GNI own resources replaced by it (2.6%); a reduction of about 30 million euros annually.

 

The calculation of plastic own resources is based on the weight of unrecycled plastic packaging waste, not on the amount of plastic packaging put on the market. The introduction of plastic own resources thus provides an incentive for all member states to avoid plastic packaging waste and promote recycling, thus reducing the national contribution.

 

It is a pity that the EU, as it seems – does not want to use this revenue for specific purposes. Below are two examples of useful earmarked uses:

 

  • As part of the circular economy package, 50% of plastic packaging waste is to be recycled throughout the EU by 2025, and by 2030 the figure is to be 55 %. To achieve these targets, sorting and recycling capacities in Europe must be quadrupled. Especially for sorting, investments in sorting quality are necessary in addition to stock expansion, as the existing recycling quotas cannot be achieved by expanding separate collection alone.

 

  • In order to decisively reduce or banish plastic waste from the oceans, improved concepts and methods for waste collection and recycling in Third World countries are needed first and foremost. Companies from the EU member states can provide the appropriate technologies for this purpose.

 


Blog

Rahmen und Wirtschaft

Blog Kunststoffsteuer

Nach vielen verschiedenen Meldungen zum Thema Kunststoffsteuer gibt es nun eine offizielle Stellungnahme vom österreichischen Ministerium dazu. Nachstehend ein Auszug:

 

Bei der sogenannten „EU – Plastikabgabe“ bzw. „EU-Plastiksteuer“ handelt es sich um keine Abgabe bzw. Steuer im herkömmlichen Sinn. Sondern es handelt sich dabei um eine neue Kategorie von Eigenmitteln auf Basis des Anfalls nicht wiederverwerteten Plastikverpackungsmülls zur Finanzierung des EU-Haushalts („Plastik Eigenmittel“)

 

Durch die Einführung der neuen Eigenmittelkategorie verringert sich für Österreich sogar der EU-Beitrag, weil Österreichs Anteil an den Plastik-Eigenmitteln (2,4 %) geringer ist als Österreichs Anteil an den dadurch ersetzten BNE-Eigenmitteln (2,6 %); eine Reduktion von jährlich rund 30 Mio Euro.

 

Die Berechnung der Plastik-Eigenmittel basiert auf der Gewichtsmenge nicht wiederverwerteten Plastikverpackungsmülls, nicht auf der Menge an in Verkehr gebrachten Plastikverpackungen.

 

Die Einführung von Plastik-Eigenmitteln bietet somit allen Mitgliedsstaaten einen Anreiz, Plastikverpackungsmüll zu vermeiden und Recycling zu fördern und damit auch den nationalen Beitrag zu senken.

 

Es ist schade, dass die EU – wie es aussieht – diese Einnahmen nicht zweckgebunden verwenden möchte. Nachstehend zwei Beispiele für sinnvolle zweckgebundene Einsätze:

 

  • Im Rahmen des Kreislaufwirtschaftspakets sollen Verpackungsabfälle aus Kunststoffen bis 2025 EU-weit zu 50 % recycelt werden, bis 2030 sollen es dann 55 % sein. Um diese Vorgaben zu erreichen müssen in Europa die Sortier- und Recyclingkapazitäten vervierfacht werden. Vor allem bei der Sortierung sind neben Bestandserweiterungen auch Investitionen in Sortierqualität notwendig da die bestehenden Recycling-Quoten allein über den Ausbau der Getrenntsammlung nicht erreicht werden können.

 

  • Um den Plastikmüll aus den Ozeanen entscheidend einzudämmen bzw. zu verbannen braucht es in erster Linie verbesserte Konzepte und Methoden zur Müllsammlung und Verwertung in den Ländern der Dritten Welt. Unternehmen aus den EU-Mitgliedstaaten können dafür die entsprechenden Technologien liefern.

Blog